The Maths Hubs programme for the first time brings together all mathematics education professionals in a national network of hubs, each locally led by an outstanding school or college, and in partnership with neighbouring schools, colleges, universities, CPD providers, maths experts and employers. This is a new way of harnessing all maths teaching expertise within an area, to spread excellent practice even more widely, for the benefit of all pupils and students.


LAs diagram3.jpg

As a Maths Hub we will provide support to all schools in Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester, Halton and Wirral.



We will support all areas of maths education, including: 

  • recruitment of maths specialists into teaching.

  • initial training of maths teachers and converting existing teachers into maths.

  • co-ordinating and delivering a wide range of maths continuing professional development (CPD) and school-to-school support.

  • ensuring maths leadership is developed, eg running a programme for aspiring heads of maths departments.

  • helping maths enrichment programmes to reach a large number of pupils from primary school onwards.

We will support primary through to post 16 and have a chance to change/influence maths education across the country.

Among our key strategic partners are the following:  

Our Lady of Pity Primary School
Alsager School
Meadow Primary School
Deep Learning Teaching School Alliance
Wade Deacon Teaching School Alliance
Aspirer Research School
Ignite Teaching School Alliance
Holy Family Multi Academy Trust
The North West Learning Partnership
Chester University

The national dimension of the programme is made possible by the hubs collaborating as a national group, pooling experience, expertise and ideas as a network, and meeting once a term at the National Maths Hubs Forum. This is a new way of fast-tracking current, school-based practice and research to an environment where national policy objectives can be explored and new ideas formulated.